Following a short break, F1 returns to action on July 6-8 for a very special running of the British GP. For the first time in history, the starting order for the grand prix will be decided by a 100km sprint race scheduled on Saturday afternoon.

This is part of an experiment F1 is conducing at three races this year to spice up the show and refresh the sport’s long-running weekend format.

The usual qualifying session hasn’t been completely dropped but instead moved to Friday afternoon, replacing the second hour-long practice. However, winner of the sprint race – and not the fastest driver in qualifying – will officially be recognised as the polesitter for the British Grand Prix.

For more details about the F1’s inaugural sprint qualifying race, click here. 

2021 Formula 1 British Grand Prix session timings in different timezones

Session

GMT

BST

CEST

ET

PT

AEST

JST

IST

FP1

13:30

14:30

15:30

09:30

06:30

23:30

22:30

19:00

Qualifying 17:00

18:00

19:00

13:00

10:00

03:00¹

02:00¹

22:30

FP2

11:00

12:00

13:00

07:00

04:00

21:00

20:00

16:30

Sprint

15:30

16:30

17:30

11:30

08:30

01:30¹

00:30¹

21:00

Race 

14:00

15:00

16:00

10:00

07:00

00:00¹

23:00

19:30

2021 Formula 1 British GP session timings in the UK/Portugal 

Friday 16th July 2021

  • Free Practice 1: 14:30 – 15:30 BST
  • Qualifying: 18:00 – 19:00 BST

Saturday 17th July 2021

  • Qualifying: 12:00 – 13:00 BST
  • Sprint: 16:30 – 17:00 BST

Sunday 18th July 2021

2021 Formula 1 French GP session timings in Europe

Friday 16th July 2021

  • Free Practice 15:30 – 16:30 CEST
  • Qualifying: 19:00 – 20:00 CEST

Saturday 17th July 2021

  • Free Practice 2: 13:00 – 14:00 CEST
  • Sprint: 17:30 – 18:00 CEST

Sunday 18th July 2021

2021 Formula 1 British GP session timings in the US

Friday 16th July 2021

  • Free Practice 1: 09:30 – 10:30 ET / 06:30 – 07:30 PT
  • Qualifying: 13:00 – 14:00 ET / 10:00 – 11:00 PT

Saturday 17th July 2021

  • Free Practice 2: 07:00 – 08:00 ET / 04:00 – 05:00 PT
  • Sprint: 11:30 – 12:00 ET / 08:30 – 09:00 PT

Sunday 18th July 2021

  • Race: 10:00 – 12:00 PT / 07:00 – 09:00 PT

2021 Formula 1 British GP session timings in Australia

Friday 16th July 2021

  • Free Practice 1: 23:30 – 00:30¹ AEST

Saturday 17th July 2021

  • Qualifying: 03:00 – 04:00 AEST
  • Free Practice 2: 21:00 – 22:00 AEST

Sunday 18th July 2021

  • Sprint: 01:30 – 02:00 AEST

Monday 19th July 2021

2021 Formula 1 British GP session timings in Japan

Friday 16th July 2021

  • Free Practice 1: 22:30 – 23:30 JST

Saturday 17th July 2021

  • Qualifying: 02:00 – 3:00 JST 
  • Free Practice 2: 20:00 – 21:00 JST

Sunday 18th July 2021

  • Sprint: 00:30 – 01:00 JST
  • Race: 23:00 – 01:00¹ JST

2021 Formula 1 British GP session timings in Africa

Friday 16th July 2021

  • Free Practice 1: 15:30 – 16:30 SAT / 16:30 – 17:30 EAT
  • Qualifying: 19:00 – 20:00 SAT / 20:00 – 21:00 EAT

Saturday 17th July 2021

  • Free Practice 2: 13:00 – 14:00 SAT / 14:00 – 15:00 EAT
  • Sprint: 17:30 – 18:00 SAT / 18:30 – 19:00 EAT

Sunday 18th July 2021

  • Race: 16:00 – 18:00 SAT / 17:00 – 19:00 EAT

2021 Formula 1 British GP session timings in India

Friday 16th July 2021

  • Free Practice 1: 19:00 – 20:00 IST
  • Qualifying: 22:30 – 23:30 IST

Saturday 17th July 2021

  • Free Practice 2: 16:30 – 17:30 IST
  • Sprint: 21:00 – 21:30 IST

Sunday 18th July 2021

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the Formula 1 schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

Pirelli tyre allocation for the British Grand Prix

Due to high energy demands of the Silverstone circuit, Pirelli is bringing its three hardest compounds to the UK – C1, C2 and C3 tyres.



Source link